Foto: in einem Ausstellungsraum sind von Wand zu Wand Seile mit grell farbigen Stoff-Rechtecken gespannt. Darunter lehnt eine junge Frau an der Wand.

Academic advisory board

The academic advisory board advises the management and the shareholders’ meetings on specialist and strategical matters. It includes representatives from academia, practice, various German ministries and the State of Berlin.

» What a pleasure to contribute to Europe’s most important research institute supporting municipal practice. «
- Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Ulrich Battis, Chairperson of the academic advisory board


Professor em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Ulrich Battis

Emeritus from the Faculty of Law at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin


Prof. Dr. Martin Haag

Councillor for Construction, City of Freiburg im Breisgau, Department of Urban Development and Construction, Civil Engineering with Traffic Planning, Green Urban Areas and Buildings Management

Thomas Kufen

Mayor of the City of Essen

Hilmar von Lojewski

Deputy at the Association of German Cities, Head of the Department of Urban Development, Construction, Housing and Traffic

Mike Schubert

Lord Mayor of the State Capital of Potsdam

Christian Specht

First Mayor of the City of Mannheim, Department 1


Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Ulrich Battis

Emeritus from the Faculty of Law at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Prof. Dr. Regine Gerike

TU Dresden, Institute of Transport Planning and Road Traffic

Prof. DC. Sabine Kuhlmann

University of Potsdam, Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences, Political Science, Public Administration and Organisation

Prof. Dr. Thomas Lenk

Leipzig University, Institute of Public Finance and Public Management, Chair for Finance

Prof. Dr. Angela Million

Technische Universität Berlin, Faculty VI Planning, Building, Environment

Prof. Dr. Guido Spars

University of Wuppertal, Chair for Economy of Planning Construction, Faculty of Architecture, Art and Design

Federal Government and the State of Berlin

Ministry Head Dietmar Horn

Federal Ministry for Housing, Urban Development and Building, Director-General S - Urban and Spatial Development

Ministry Head Dr. Susanne Lottermoser

Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Nuclear Safety and Consumer Protection

Ministry Head Dr. Christian Diehr

Federal Ministry of Finance, Financial Relations with the Länder and Municipalities; Public and Constitutional Law

Harald Fuchs

State Administration for Finances, Berlin, Department I - Assets and Shares I D

Thorsten Tonndorf

State Administration for Urban Development and Housing, Berlin, Head of the Department for Urban Development Planning

Research Associates at Difu

Jan Abt

Department Infrastructure, Economy and Finance

Dr. Elke Bojarra-Becker

Department Environment

Ricarda Pätzold

Department Urban Development, Law and Social Affairs

Permanent representation

Helmut Dedy

Managing Director of the Association of German Cities

Verena Göppert

Permanent Deputy of the Managing Director and Deputy, Association of German Cities, Head of the Department of Finance

Members of the steering group of Difu


As on: February 2023